BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

06-05-2011, 07:24 AM   #1
Oofie
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 13 FR-S

SCCA AutoX school - San Diego

Did my first ever SCCA event, an autocross school yesterday. Day was full of driving and chatting with fast people, I definitely learned a lot. It was my second time out with the 135i so I'm still learning how to drive it. Car is all stock with 17x8.5 Kosei's wrapped in 235/40/17 Dunlop Direzza SS.

Broke the timing beam going sideways and ended up sliding for a considerable distance. I tried steering with the slide, but it was really dirty once I got off line and I'm just glad the car stopped before hitting those big pillars. I think I just got right in between the two pillars and stopping a few meters short of the curb.

Since they weren't strict with cones and times, I really didn't DNF Ended up being .5 seconds off of my instructor, who also drives a 135i. Given he only did 2 tries, and I did my fastest time during my third run, I'm still pretty happy with my times.

Last edited by Oofie; 06-05-2011 at 07:33 AM..
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2011, 10:55 PM   #2
aisthetes
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2013 M3 Competition

Nice, looks like you're getting comfortable with the new ride. Now that you've gotten your first spin out of the way, there's nothing holding you back.

Exhaust sounds like you guys couldn't wait to modify for more power. That's stock?
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2011, 07:12 AM   #3
Oofie
Private First Class
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by aisthetes View Post
Nice, looks like you're getting comfortable with the new ride. Now that you've gotten your first spin out of the way, there's nothing holding you back.

Exhaust sounds like you guys couldn't wait to modify for more power. That's stock?