BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

06-01-2011, 10:32 PM   #1
Xaeryan
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: Sideways mostly

Novice track suspension advice

Looking for advice from track veterans only. I'm new to HPDEs, but have been autocrossing many years. I installed the Performance Suspension a while back, and while great for the street and fairly decent for autocrossing, it's a bit too soft for the track (IMO). So I've been eyeing up a set of ASTs, trying to figure out which I want.
But at the same time, each time I autocross the car, I'm impressed with the balance and responsiveness of the PS (I also have all the M3 bits). I'm also impressed with its street comfort during weekend cruises, although it could use stiffer springs and better damping even there (again, IMO).
Also many instructors seem to advise sticking with a "slow" suspension initially since it will penalize you more for poor driving skills, so it becomes a learning tool. (Much like they steer novices away from full race slicks)
At the same time, I have the itch for something to tinker with and go faster, so I'm really torn...

So, any opinions as to whether I should opt for a better suspension, or stick with the PS for now? And if the latter, is there a "eureka" point where you realize you have outgrown the suspension? I value your input.
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2011, 09:43 AM   #2
Focusedintntions
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2011 135i M-Sport :D

Until you have a few HDPE's under your belt, stick with what you have. The more you do, you'll eventually reach a point where you know you can't get anything more out of the car, then you get it. Thats what I was told when I first started, use what you have till you know you can't get any faster with it.
      06-02-2011, 09:59 AM   #3
fboutlaw
Cone Cruncher
United_States
Rep
Drives: Dinan 135i