BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis

10-06-2010, 03:20 PM   #1
mpardun
CO 14GIPPR
United_States
Rep
Drives: '11 e90 ///M3

Newbie ?: Why does BMW use a single piston brake?

I apologize if this has been asked and answered...

I am far from an expert, but with all serious road and race cars using 4-6 piston brakes. It stands to reason that using a 1 piston brake setup may make sense for a mainstream production vehicle, but why would BMW choose a 1 piston option for it's supposed performance car?

Please something aside from cost (as all other German makers I am familiar with use multi-piston brakes).

Just curious...as I await my 2011 build and contemplate aftermarket wishlists.
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2010, 04:00 PM   #2
elh0102
Captain
Rep
Drives: 2009 335i coupe

Well, cost is probably the biggest reason, like it or not. But, I wouldn't worry about it. Folks get too concerned about the number of pistons, but the quality and stiffness of the caliper is more important. The stopping effectiveness is mostly dependent on the rotor and pad sizes (swept area). And the fade resistence is mostly the determined by cooling, which is very related to the internal design of the rotor, as well as additional cooling ducts. Under extreme conditions, as in racing, multiple pistons should produce more evenly distributed pad pressure, resulting in less pad taper and probably longer dependable performance before fading. But with appropriate pads and fluid, the stock M3 brakes are very good, even for casual track use.
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2010, 04:25 PM   #3
rob612
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: e92 - m3

Quote:
Originally Posted by elh0102 View Post