BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

06-02-2010, 11:07 AM   #1
sandwood
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: Z4M, formerly e90 M3

yet another r-comp track tire question

I'm debating what to do about tires and would welcome constructive input. I know some of these issues have been commented on before but...

I've done 4 track days at summit point on the oem 18s with oem PS2s. I would say I am an low-intermediate driver - I'm signed off for solo (technically the advanced group) but still have a lot to learn. just from other people posting on this site, advanced M3 drivers apparently are up to 10mph faster than me on the main straight - seems like a lot to me.

I plan on selling the car by March of 2012. I have two track days this year, and hopefully 4-5 more next year. The original PS2s may survive that (I use 19" wheels normally, and also have dedicated 18" winter wheels), but barely and would need replacing prior to selling the car.

so, does it make sense for me to take off the oem PS2s, store them until I'm ready to sell the car, and get dedicated track rubber on the 18s in the meantime? If I do, I'm inclined to get Toyo RA1s in 245/275 fitment because I have a trusted local supplier/installer.

I do not want to get another set of wheels, so whatever I get must work on the oem 18s.

I don't want to cover up my deficiencies as a driver, so maybe it makes more sense to use up the old PS2s and just replace them with more high performance summer tires for the additional track time next year? Getting the RA1s would be cheaper, however.

Thoughts?
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2010, 12:19 PM   #2
Gearhead999s
Major General
Rep
Drives: RR Velar R=Dynamic M2C R1200GS

Can you still get New RA's in that sizing?I am running a square 275/35 18 setup and I am very pleased with it.
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2010, 12:23 PM   #3
sandwood