BMW X5 and X6 Forum 2014-Current
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW X5 and X6 Forum (F15/F16) > BMW X5 (F15) and BMW X6 (F16) Forum > BMW X5M (F85) and X6M (F86) Forum

08-10-2018, 01:08 PM   #1
PanthersFX
M Performance Class ;)
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2015 BMX X5 50i M sport

I am looking to buy at X5m or 50i looking for new owner advice

Hi guys,

Newbie here, figured I'd hit up the BMW forums. I am researching on replacing my Infiniti FX35 and buy a BMW.
Coming from owning my 2nd FX35. I had the both the first and 2nd generation and finding the car very enjoyable and reliable.
Almost 90K on my car and no issues just basic maintenance work and been running without any problems like the day I bought it.
Leaning toward the X5M, when I research the pricing is bit more than the 50i but love the look, speed and styling better. I was shopping Land Rover HSE, Porsche Cayenne turbo and Jeep Cherokee SRT8.
I am seeing several X5M's out there between 70-100K miles going for around $18k to $27k the 50i are going for bit less at $12k to $20K with bit less mileage
Sorry for all the newbie questions will be my first BMW, excited, nervous and scared all at the same time. Coming from owning Japanese cars that are very reliable is a strange place.
This bring me to my questions about things to look for and reliability.

1) Reading post after post seems to find that some of the X5ms are more reliable then the 50i is that right? Appears to be some common issue with the 50i

2) Are there any specific issue and concerns look at when shopping for X5m

3) I was considering getting a warranty will they warranty a car that’s 7-8 years old with this higher mileage?

4) Is there a better warranty provider or will BMW still provide it ? (having reading good things about easycare from post)

Thanks for any advice or guidance in advance!!!
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2018, 02:49 PM   #2
Nuckle
Captain
Rep
Drives: 2023 Defender X