Mo Reviews
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Wheels | Tires -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack

08-29-2017, 11:11 AM   #1
mose121
Humanist
United_States
Rep
Drives: F80 M3 ZCP/F31 330i M Sport

F80 ZCP: Wider Tire Size Fitment

I have a 2016 F80 ZCP and am looking to go with wider tires on the stock wheels on both the front and rear. I do track the car occasionally in advanced groups and I'm getting pretty tired of going through front tires in a half day track day. I have lots of track experience with Pilot Super Sports on other cars and have never had this problem. The stretched sidewalls on the F80 ZCP 20" front tires is just completely inadequate for heavy loads. The tires just roll over too much unless you jack up the PSI which is counterproductive at the track. It's a constant battle between a low enough pressure to maximize grip and fight the PSI increases as the session goes on vs. a high enough pressure not to rapidly tear up the sidewall under load. I do load the car up with luggage and passengers quite often and do not want to have any rubbing at all. Car is also my daily driver and will not be lowered in the future. Looking to go with MICH PS4's. Any insight you may have would be greatly appreciated. Saw a mention in another thread about wider tire discussions so I tried searching but came up empty.
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2017, 05:58 AM   #2
wigaster
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2016 M3 AW 6MT

You are overdriving the tires and no matter how you compromise your tire pressure, tire width, etc etc you are still driving a compromised tire (PSS) on a fairly heavy car. Wider is not going to fix your problem nor is going with the PS4S. Solution for your problem is dedicated track wheel and tires (with proper rubber). This may be not what you were hoping to hear but everyone is going to tell you the same thing. Good luck!
Appreciate 1
MPoweRo428.00
      09-01-2017, 12:29 PM   #3