ARMA SPEED
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Wheels | Tires -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack

10-16-2015, 06:52 AM   #1
kraeburn
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2015 F80 6MT

Blizzak WS80 vs LM32

I have always run whatever the newest performance variant Blizzak offers for winter tires whether it be the LM-60 most recently or the LM-25's in the past. The reason being is that I have always had an AWD car (VW R32>Evo>S4) so I could sacrifice ultimate snow traction for dry performance.

Now that I have a high-hp RWD car I feel as though I may need to step up to something less compromised but give up the dry performance. For added context, I live in RI but drive up to VT every weekend to ski and also since I am a business owner I sometimes need to be able to get into work in poor weather. Granted, my parents live a mile away and have a RS7 and Cayenne Turbo (both with snow tires) that I can borrow in a pinch. For what its worth, I do live on a hill and our ski house is up a steep, curved driveway.

Should I just bite the bullet and get WS80's or similar and grind my teeth when its dry out and it is wobbling all over? I am a good driver in the snow so I can handle the car fine, I am worried about the half dozen days a year when we actually need them. Hopefully some of you have had experiences with these types of cars in a similar use case.
Appreciate 0
      10-16-2015, 07:14 AM   #2
Matt_B
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: F80 M3

I had WS80s on my Audi last winter. Fantastic snow and ice tire but drives like complete mush on dry roads. That was in an A4 - I would have hated it in a dynamic car like the M3. Also worth considering that they don't come in a great size for the M3 - 245/50R18 and 245/40R18 are probably the closest and each will throw off your speedo about 3.5%.

Still, I understand your concerns. How much snow are you expecting on those half a dozen days?
Appreciate 0