BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

08-24-2015, 09:16 AM   #1
alyssariffic
Rep
Drives: 2013 135is

Water in taillight + electrical short - what should I worry about here?

Hello All,

I'm new to BMW ownership, having owned my car for a bit over a month. Unfortunately, it's spent almost as much time at the shop as it has in my ownership.

I have a 2013 135is, but about 2 weeks after I bought it we had a freak hail storm in our area (we don't really get hail, and what we saw was the largest on record in our area). It caused some relatively minor dings that were pulled out with paintless dent removal, so no big headache there.

The bigger issue is - the rear passenger taillight was cracked by the hail. Nothing shattered- just a crack in the light so theoretically it still wouldn't allow much, if any, water penetration.

The new taillight wasn't in at the time the dent removal was done, and I suspect the shop may have removed the broken one and kept the car outside while waiting on the new one to arrive later that week. During the 3 days, there was a big rainstorm. One minute I was told my car was done, and a few hours later I was told that on the way to bring it to the dealership for me to pickup, a bunch of warning lights came in, and upon investigation they found water in the taillight area that caused the electrical system to short out.