proTUNING Freaks
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > BMW M3 (F80) and BMW M4 (F82) General Forum

01-10-2015, 09:40 PM   #1
GrussGott
Lieutenant General
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2018 M4 Comp Indv

Garage List
F83 M4 2500 mile review, Post ED

I've finally taken re-delivery after 1800 miles in Europe. Back in the US I've done a 6 hour road trip, some daily driving, and a few canyon runs. Here are my thoughts...

First the caveats:
* my last car was an E93 - I have no turbo sports car experience - but have been lucky enough to drive NA V8 sports cars for the last decade
* I don't track
* I don't do much daily driving - I bought this car for canyon & coast runs which is 60-80% of the miles
* I'm 6-2 ish, 200 lbs (210 after the holidays )
* Nothing too organized here, just thoughts as I've posted other reviews and my ED experience

THE REVIEW - Around Town and on the Freeway

Out of the hole this car rules - much better than the E93, much easier to control, and more "normal" sports car in stop-light situations. Anyone with E9x experience knows you needed a lot of drama to take a mini-van off the line. With the F83, there's a video of an M4 vert taking a 800+ wtq dual motor Tesla off the line using launch control. Sure, the Tesla quickly kills the M4, but out of the hole the M4 with half the wtq got the jump even if it was a fluke.

Around town this car is a real luxo-sport 'hood whip, looking just spectacular inside and out. Maybe it's the moonstone , but people LOOK at this car including the p-car people. They never looked at my E93, but they look at this car. I also get a lot of attention from the rice-racers ... if I pass them casually on the freeway I get a lot of bluster and attitude - never got that with the E93. If you're going on a nice date, pulling up to a party, or going to cars-n-coffee this car has lots of win.