GetBMWParts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > M3/M4 versus...

05-20-2014, 07:31 AM   #1
sdhotwn
Mmmm... Bavarian
Rep
Drives: M2 CS, X5 45e, i3, Cayman S

Post F8x vs. F3x if they were the same price

Having owned an E36 M3, and driven the E46 M3 a number of times, I would say the "unique" engine and sound etc is really only the providence of the E90. Neither of the engines in the other M's did much for me (never got to drive an E30 though...). I loved the E36, was fully underwhelmed by the E46 though (frankly feel the new F30's are on par to better than what I experienced in the E46). I think a lot of the discussion and beliefs revolve around constructs created by the enthusiasts rather than a lot of reality. I've been racing various cars and karts for over 10 years, and for me the M's only really shine in earnest on the track (or if you are hooning it on the street, which is another soapbox for another time). They are great street cars, but so was the 330 ZHP, 135is, and the new MSport 335i's etc. The M's are truly special when on the track, which is how many days of the year for most? The other cars definitely don't have the M mystique, but they are often equal to or better as a daily driver on the street.

Note: This was a discussion in another thread that went off topic, and got moved here.
2014 Cayman S

Last edited by sdhotwn; 05-23-2014 at 02:10 PM..
Appreciate 0
      05-20-2014, 07:46 AM   #2
mkoesel
United_States
Rep
Drives: No BMW for now

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdhotwn View Post
The other cars definitely don't have the M mystique, but they are often equal to or better as a daily driver on the street.