F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Help needed - LED Headlights in Canada
Studio RSR

02-13-2014, 03:15 PM   #1
CanAutM3
General
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2021 911 turbo

Garage List
Question Help needed - LED Headlights in Canada

I am still trying to figure out if I will tick the LED headlight option box for my M4 order. I am booked for a May production, so I still have a little time to figure out details of my order. From my research, I understand that there isn't much of a difference in lighting performance between the xenon and the LED. Looks would be my main incentive (yes, go ahead and call me a poseur) and I am a tech geek and like having the latest tech. I do find the $2000 price tag pretty steep for looks only. If I also get some new tech like the "split beam" functionality, it could push me on ordering them. I have several questions for which I cannot find answers to (even the my sales-rep struggled with those). Does anyone have insight on the following (maybe current Canadian 4-series owners)?
  • What is the difference between "Active LED Headlights" and "Adaptive LED Headlights" (if any)?
  • In the US preliminary order guide, LED headlights are part of $1900 "Lighting Package" that includes High Beam Assistant (5AC). In official Canadian pricing guide, LED headlights are a stand alone $2000 option (or part of the Exec pack). HBA (5AC) is only mentioned in the $1500 Technology Package. Is the HBA included in Canada with the Adaptive LED Headlights option 552?
  • Is the "split beam" functionality of the LED headlights activated in Canada?
  • To get the "split beam" functionality, does one need to order the HBA as part of the technology pack ($1500)?

PS: I have submitted the same thread on the F8X forum.
Appreciate 0