E90Post

Extreme Powerhouse

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > brake replacement?

03-01-2013, 09:14 PM   #1
BlackE93
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: Man

brake replacement?

hey guys my brake change date is coming up soon and was wondering what will be changed? im new at all of this so was wondering if ill need to change everything or just the rotor?
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 10:09 PM   #2
fenixxishot
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 08 335i e92 AW MT

Just the rotor huh? I'm just a little worried now.
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 10:49 PM   #3
BlackE93
Second Lieutenant
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by fenixxishot View Post
Just the rotor huh? I'm just a little worried now.
sorry im new to all this and was just wondering what needs to be replaced when the time is up?
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 10:55 PM   #4
idrift4wd
Brigadier General
Rep
Drives: Three Hundred and Thirty Five

Garage List
2007 BMW  [7.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMamba View Post
sorry im new to all this and was just wondering what needs to be replaced when the time is up?
Well for brake maintenance, the brake pads and rotors will need to be replaced. If your trying to save money, more likely then not, you only need to replace the pads. Replace rotors if they are too thin, are warped, or when braking gets shaky. + front and rear brake sensors (yes you need these)

a brake fluid flush would be a good idea if you never have done it before.

Last edited by idrift4wd; 03-01-2013 at 11:07 PM..
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 11:04 PM   #5
fenixxishot
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 08 335i e92 AW MT

Ill try to be more helpful. You don't necessarily have to replace the rotors but you should buy a micrometer to measure the thickness to verify they don't need to be replaced. Pads are not that expensive and if you are mechanically inclined they are not impossible to swap.
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2013, 12:40 AM   #6