E90Post

Coby Wheel

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > NA Engine (non-turbo) / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > Recently got a 325i... This tranny is confusing me...

11-16-2005, 09:06 PM   #1
850CSi
16 years and counting...
Rep
Drives: '06 325i 6MT

Recently got a 325i... This tranny is confusing me...

Okay, I got a 325i a couple weeks back. It's got around 800 miles on it now, but I'm still having a tough time getting used to the transmission. (I really love the car, BTW)

I mean, right when I first drove it, I appreciate the way the shifter and clutch operated, but I'm still learning...

That's mainly because my first car that I drove for a year and became perfect on was an A4 quattro 5MT, and, as many of you would probably know, AWD cars require a slightly different launching and 1-2 shifting process. The Audi also had 90K miles and was a 1.8 Turbo. I don't like to brag, but I mastered that car to the point where people who were with me for the first time would never even think that the car wasn't an automatic. I could shift clutch-less without anyone but me sensing it.

So I knew all along that driving a brand-new RWD NA Inline-6 was going to be different. Especially on a car that wasn't broken-in.

So...

1) The Bimmer idles a good 300 RPM lower than the A4 did. The clutch's friction point is also a lot higher up. I've noticed that the first inch or so of [gas] pedal travel really doesn't do much for you. This combo makes launching the car a little difficult at first.
What's the best method to launch this thing?
How high should I let my RPM get before releasing my clutch completely in order to make a smooth launch but avoid any damage (I really want this clutch to LAST)?
Any other tips?