E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Help! 4lbs boost but no codes

05-23-2012, 05:05 PM   #1
n54dragon
Rep
Drives: 2008 335xi

Help! 4lbs boost but no codes

Hey all, at dealer today for warranty work and they performed a boost test, came up at 4lbs (they said stock reading should be 8). NO codes or faults came up. They did a vacuum test and all was good, no leaks. ANY THOUGHTS?

Its a 2008 335XI.

The car has a Dinan stage 2 intercooler, active BOV, dual cone intake.

The heartbreaker.... dme had to be re-flashed, car had Dinan stage 2 software that dealer refused to re-load b/c I didn't have receipt for install (I am second owner, previous guy never gave me receipt; I was too stupid to ask). Now its on factory settings... even worse with 4lbs of boost.

P.S. I am a noob to all this, sorry if I miss any obvious points. Just looking for guidance.
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2012, 06:24 PM   #2
zerep1
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 335i E90, 328i F30, 230i G42,

It sounds like they didn't erase the dinan properly tell them to fix it erases the dme completely and reflash or find a dinan dealer they might be able to help you

Irub
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2012, 07:01 PM   #3
E90Company
Major General
No_Country
Rep
Drives: Car

I am pretty sure the dinan goes through the VIN. Shouldn't they just be able to reflash it because it's in the computer?
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2012, 08:48 PM   #4
CUTigers
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2008 Montego Blue 335i

Garage List
2008 Lexus IS F  [10.00]
2008 e90 335i  [9.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by E90Company View Post
I am pretty sure the dinan goes through the VIN. Shouldn't they just be able to reflash it because it's in the computer?
I think that is the case. Find a dinan dealer/shop. will cost you for a reflash though. Should just be their shop time for like 30 mins or so.