BMW 2-Series Gran Coupe
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BIMMERPOST Universal Forums Off-Topic Discussions Board

09-07-2011, 10:35 PM   #1
BMWUltimateDriv3r
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: '08 328xi

I'm about to apply to a rental car company to work for.

Hertz, Avis and Enterprise. I'm a recent college grad without much work experience, do you have any advice?
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2011, 11:00 PM   #2
Seminole
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: Red Flyer

Garage List
2008 E90 328i  [7.00]
What kind of position are you applying for? I met a guy from Enterprise upper management on a flight once while I was still in school. He was a really nice guy and offered me a job if I didn't find something once I graduated, so I tend to think pretty positive about Enterprise.

If you're just going to be a desk clerk, then it's going to be mostly the same thing at any of them, so applying to multiple companies gives you a higher shot of getting hired. If it's a corporate type job I'd still recommend applying to all of them. When you go on interviews try to get a feel for that office's culture. You'll be working with these people for 8+ hours a day, so you having co-workers you like could be the difference between being miserable and liking your job.
      09-07-2011, 11:09 PM   #3
M3Monster
Private
Rep
Drives: 2011 E90 M3

I worked at enterprise when I was younger (17) picking and dropping people off at the dealerships/ collision centers. This was before you need a BA to do that.

It seemed like all the guys behind the desks got burned out a lot and were always tired, I remember seeing there paychecks and it was decent 3-4k a month or so.

If you work there and put in a good effort you move up very quickly.
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2011, 11:28 PM   #4
BMWUltimateDriv3r
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: '08 328xi

What kind of position are you applying for?

Manager trainee >_>

Which is a fancy term for salesman.
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2011, 12:22 AM   #5
MisterSkiMask