E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > Canada > Need help and advice! :(

12-03-2010, 05:30 PM   #1
skip2mylou123
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 335xi

Need help and advice! :(

I got caught yesturday with an expired license. My license has been expired for almost 3 months and I did not get any notification letters reminding me for a renewal. Needless to say, the police officer graciously handed me a $325ticket.
I have never been in trouble with the law before and have never gotten a speeding ticket. I'm still a student and my parents are not paying for my education nor are they paying for my living expenses. So I'm literally relying on my student loans to get by. Therefore, money is very tight for me.

So right now, I have asked several of my friends for advice. The majority of them told me to fight the ticket, because the conviciton will go on my record for 3 years - possibly affecting my insurance premiums. So I have several questions,

Should I fight it in court? or should I simply pay the fine?

Also, If i do pay the fine will it affect my insurance premiums?

And If i do chose to go to court, there are 2 options listed on the ticket. Either I plea guilty (submissions as to penalty) or I plea "not" guilty. Which one should I chose? Thank you guys so much!
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2010, 05:51 PM   #2
MOAB
Major
Canada
Rep
Drives: Porsche & BMW

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip2mylou123 View Post
I got caught yesturday with an expired license. My license has been expired for almost 3 months and I did not get any notification letters reminding me for a renewal. Needless to say, the police officer graciously handed me a $325ticket.