E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Questions about remapping....

01-28-2010, 06:35 AM   #1
E92westy
Lieutenant
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: F20 118d Sport

Question Questions about remapping....

Firstly, I’ve never had a remap so I’m a total noob on this…
I’ve had a search but haven’t really found the answers to few questions I have on re-maps. If someone could either provide me with a link or some straight answers, I’d appreciate it. Bear in mind, I’m talking about an NA engine.

Does the remap affect the ‘aggressiveness’ of the throttle , in the same way as a ‘sport’ button or, dare I mention, a Sprint Booster?

Does the remap affect the fuelling on a constant throttle and if so how?
I suppose what I’m really asking is if there’s a good chance that a remap will cure this mild hesitation and occasional ‘missing’ on a light, constant throttle at <2000rpm.

If I have a remap, it doesn’t cure my problem and I then have it removed, can a BMW dealer tell? That is, will any future warranty work potentially be refused even if the remap is no longer installed?

After three returns, I’m concerned that a hundred visits to the dealer won’t fix it completely. As it seems to run fine for a couple of days after getting it back I’m thinking it’s a software issue, as if the adaptions are reset at the garage and then as the ECU starts to ‘learn’ again, it messes thing up. Is this possible or complete fantasy on my part?

If a remap will cure it, I’d be more than happy to pay. I’d rather not get into a big fight about rejecting it (BMW AUC collected 16/11/09) and I can’t afford to just change it. I really like the car, but this mild hesitation and missing is irritating. I’ve only put V Power in it since I’ve had it.

I’d value your input!

Appreciate 0
      01-28-2010, 07:42 AM   #2
MEGA
Dieseasal
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: LCI E92 335d M-Sport