ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Technical Talk > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

08-11-2009, 09:29 AM   #1
R32
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives:

Non-staggered track setup?

greetings!

i am looking to get into a z4 m coupe in the next couple of months. i plan on getting a set of track rims pretty much right away. i am an intermediate track driver-- i do run r comps and race brake pads.

does anyone have any experience or suggestions concerning a non-staggered setup for the z4m? obviously such a setup can help reduce understeer in most cars, but in the z4m, understeer seems pretty easy to dial out just with alignment/suspension setup.

to me, a non-staggered setup reduces track day costs, since being able to rotate the tires evens out the wear a lot.

thanks for anyone's input!
Appreciate 0
      08-11-2009, 09:05 PM   #2
silversprint
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: Z4M

Depends on your suspension, wheel width, offset, race or street tires.

Problem is that with stock wheels and suspension you can't really fit anything much bigger than a 245 on the front and 245 is too small for the rear.

If you get aftermarket wheels you may be able to fit 255 on the front with a lot of work. But 255 is still on the small side for the rear.
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2009, 05:03 PM   #3
R32
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives:

Quote:
Originally Posted by silversprint View Post
If you get aftermarket wheels you may be able to fit 255 on the front with a lot of work. But 255 is still on the small side for the rear.
i guess i should have been more specific-- i was not going to try to put non-staggered tires on staggered rims...