New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   New 2009 2010 BMW Z4 - ZPOST > BMW Z4 Forum (E89) > 2009-Current Z4 Forum (E89) General Discussion

05-11-2009, 08:20 AM   #1
Z4 Beemer
Colonel
Scotland
Rep
Drives: 2009 Z4 sDrive 23i

Garage List
2006 E92  [0.00]
2004 Z4 2.2i  [8.00]
Delivery info and test drive (UK)

Went round to the dealers today at lunchtime to get the paperwork sorted and had a go in their sDrive 35i. The spec was Deep Sea Blue, 18" multi-spoke wheels, white design leather package but no Sat Nav Fortunately it was a proper 6 speed manual (none of that DCT nonsense )

Coming from a 2.5i, all I can say is that the performance is astonishing . The gearbox was slick and I think it drives really well. I'm no expert on performance/handling so I'll stop there! In terms of looks and fit/finish, it seems really well put together. The roof works pretty silently (hardly any noise when the bits are moving) and the smoothness of the operation is amazing. The roof can be lowered and raised with the fob. With the roof down and the boot tray in place, (to allow the roof to be lowered) I think you could struggle to get bags of shopping in place, but no big deal.

A few observations...

On the white leather seats, there are bits of suede where the seat belts rest (there is also suede on the doors). The white leather actually looked a bit 'plasticy' - I guess this could be the sun protection treatment. I hope the black leather looks ok.

The red LED light on the parking brake controller seemed to flash when the door was opened (not sure what that was about),

I don't think the steering wheel is as chunky as the ones you find on M models (3 series M sport), or even the old Z4 sport models, but the 'weight' of it for me was fine.