BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

10-29-2008, 01:05 AM   #1
kwanzto
135i
United_States
Rep
Drives: Graphite 135i

Remaining D-Stock - To Sway Or Not To Sway?

I've been autocrossing the 135i for a couple of months now in bone stock form, and I must say that the car handles very well (not to mention it's just a BLAST to drive). I've decided that, at least for now, I'm going to keep the car in D-Stock trim and see how well I can do within the class. You could say I've learned my lesson from previous cars; my 350z for example, where I did whichever mod I felt like doing, and found myself severely out-classed in BSP.

One easy upgrade allowable within the stock class is a sway bar, BUT the class only allows for a FRONT sway bar. The rear bar must remain stock. I'm thinking that I'd like to beef up the front sway bar to help control body roll, but I am afraid that I may induce unwanted understeer.

The 135i isn't too bad with the understeer. The place I feel it most is in slaloms. But otherwise it turns in reasonably well However, it does not seem to rotate as well as my Z did mid-corner, and there is certainly room for improvement all around. I feel it may be possible to improve responsiveness by stiffening things up, but I'm wonderng if any of you have any experience running only the front sway bar. Will I just end up trading masive understeer for quicker transitions?

Are there other tricks to stiffen the rear to balance things out? I know that Stock rules allow for upgrades to the shocks. Might 'stiffer shocks in the rear combine with stock shocks and a sway bar in the front to make a neutral car?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      10-29-2008, 11:21 AM   #2
JME
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives:

Garage List
2008 135i  [0.00]
There is a lot of good information in this thread.

http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16287