BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

10-27-2007, 12:21 PM   #1
Legion5
Major
Rep
Drives: e92

*Put bargaining chip here* IS350 36k loaded.

Here's a funny situation, the local dealers in my area are offering amazing incentives on the IS350 sedan, and I wouldn't be surprised if they also were doing so in your area. For the base price they are offering IS350's with the Mark Levinson sound system which is what I was most into. I didn't even expect to get a good price, I was just looking to see the features I would miss on a 135i (I'm a sound recording technician so I like audio, and Japanese cars are known for their standard features which are a hidden cost of other manufacturers).

The IS350 though is a significantly overlooked car but the best part is in every conceivable dimension a 135i with some options makes no sense when compared to a good deal on a IS350, so saying that it would be silly not to have a 135i be a bargain for the enthusiasts. BMW's are one of the few track tunned cars around, and only a select few can really appreciate that over luxury. The IS350 is a great car and because of that I hope it will keep a nichy 135i in the lower 30's.

Let me first tell you, and this can be assumed as fact, the 135i's small size being a unique feature is going to be bullshit. I read the review on Top Gear which a lot of car people respect with an obsession, and even hardcore fans can see this for themselves. The 135i is NOT like a Miata, and not like a S2000. It's a Grand Tourer, just like every other upmarket car. At least according to Top Gear. That puts it in line to be competitive and therefore it must be competitive or joe shmoe will sink the series.

With that out of the way a 135i with the upgraded sound system and premium package makes no sense above 36k (Those are really the only options I want surprisingly..).