E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Leaving my car for an extended period of time

02-24-2021, 01:03 PM   #1
ragingpanda
Banned
Rep
Drives: 135i

Leaving my car for an extended period of time

So I am a travel nurse and I will be leaving for my next travel assignment in a few weeks to Boston for 3 months (possibly 6 months if I like the assignment). I will not be driving my car to the location as I don't want to expose my 2007 335i to salt. I will be leaving my car with my brother and I was wondering how often should he drive my car while I am gone. The car runs on full e85 (he is aware of this and there are plenty of locations to fill up on). I can change my tune to run on pump 93 before I leave as well, just not sure if I should do that though.

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      02-24-2021, 02:11 PM   #2
lowrydr310
Robot
Rep
Drives: 2006 330i, 2007 E93 335i

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragingpanda View Post
So I am a travel nurse and I will be leaving for my next travel assignment in a few weeks to Boston for 3 months (possibly 6 months if I like the assignment). I will not be driving my car to the location as I don't want to expose my 2007 335i to salt. I will be leaving my car with my brother and I was wondering how often should he drive my car while I am gone. The car runs on full e85 (he is aware of this and there are plenty of locations to fill up on). I can change my tune to run on pump 93 before I leave as well, just not sure if I should do that though.

Thanks!
I have zero personal experience but the general consensus is that ethanol is not good for long term storage since it absorbs moisture but on the other hand our fuel systems are allegedly sealed. I would suggest using up all the existing fuel, then refilling with 93 pump and changing the tune.