04-14-2020, 05:59 PM   #1
exokiss
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2020 BMW X7

Garage List
2020 BMW X7  [0.00]
Newbie here, sorry...Is there a way/technique to get the Extended Shadow trim(M Sport purchased) installed from the dealer free of charge? I know dealers make a lot of money from those kind of add-ons. I feel I'll lose that battle once I mentioned to them and for that reason I'd really appreciate your advice on the matter. Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2020, 08:47 PM   #2
jmciver
///M SubDriver
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2017 M3, 2020 X7 40i

Garage List
2017 BMW M3  [10.00]
2020 BMW X7  [0.00]
2019 BMW X3  [0.00]
2009 BMW 128i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by exokiss View Post
Newbie here, sorry...Is there a way/technique to get the Extended Shadow trim(M Sport purchased) installed from the dealer free of charge? I know dealers make a lot of money from those kind of add-ons. I feel I'll lose that battle once I mentioned to them and for that reason I'd really appreciate your advice on the matter. Thanks.
For free? Not likely. If you did not tick that box as part of ordering your X7 (or if you are buying from dealer inventory without the option installed from the factory), then you will have to pay the dealer something. If you are still negotiating, you can always try to get a discount on the parts and/or the labor to install them. Installing the grill and rear trim strip is very easy so try to negotiate no more than an hour of labor (you can even show them the factory install procedures if they try to BS you on the labor time). The exhaust tips will take more work though as it technically requires bumper removal. I negotiated installing a few M Performance parts on my M3 when I purchased it a few years ago. I got 15% off the parts and a slightly reduced labor rate to install them.

Front Grill: https://www.newtis.info/tisv2/a/en/g...rip/1VncrvFCpw
Rear Trim Strip: https://www.newtis.info/tisv2/a/en/g...rip/1Vne18An2C