E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Remap on 335D Questions

08-16-2008, 04:26 AM   #1
misterS3
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: X70 on the way

Remap on 335D Questions

From what i've read, am i right in saying that if you buy a remap, with or without a dyno run, you get the same map regardless?

The dyno run is just to show the before and after i.e relative gains?

Should i get the car remapped the same day i get it, or get used to it std and then get it remapped?

Cheers

PS - I'm new to Beemers, but on Audi-sport.net we got group buys and discounts? Is that the same here?
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2008, 05:16 AM   #2
CD
gone ... but i will be back !
England
Rep
Drives: 335D Coupe

i had my 335D remaped about 3 monthes after i bought it, simon at emaps said he maps a lot of brand new cars, but i thought it might be a good idea to at least run the car for a few thousand miles before mapping.

I think emaps do a discount group buy, if you can find someone in the roughly the same area to you that is.

Yes you are right , there is no difference between mapping a car and then using a dyno afterwards, except with the dyno you have the reasurance the car is performing/has the gains what the mapper said it would. Plus you get a pretty little graph ... i didnt have a dyno, as emaps came to my home address and did the car there, but a few miles in the car afterwards is enough to tell you have your moneys worth

good luck and enjoy the new car !

E92 335D / QUAIFE LSD / EIBACH / DIMISA / REMAP / 19" HAMANN EDITION RACE REPS
... USUALLY WITH A HEALTHY SPLATTERING OF GOOD OLD YORKSHIRE MUD ...
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2008, 05:45 AM   #3
misterS3
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by CD View Post