BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
Welcome to the ultimate BMW X3 community.
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

02-23-2019, 11:02 AM   #1
canuckbmw
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2013 X5 50, 2018 X3 30

Can someone explain to me what happened ? winter driving!

I have a 2017 X3 3.0 and since I am very new to these cars I am not educated as much as others on how the DSC and DTC and X drive all work together. This is my first winter in a BMW as well. Anyway, I have brand new winter tires (bridgestone Blizzak) and so far they have worked pretty well on all conditions. A few days ago I was driving the car up a fairly steep hill ( 20% Plus) with no shoulder , two way one lane each way. I had the car in sport mode and saw I was doing 67Kms going up the hill. Towards the crest of the hill a large gravel truck came over towards me and he didn't see me coming up and he was in the middle of the road coming down. He forced me a bit off the road towards what should be the shoulder but it was filled with a lot of slushy snow and icy patches. Before I could think to do anything ( brake gas etc), the car was quickly sucked deeper into the steep side bank and my first thought was, I am going to ditch into the bank. Instead the car suddenly powered forward, and shot me back out into the road causing the back end to fish out sideways and was wagging me back and forth out of my control into the oncoming lane. As bad luck would have it, another car was right behind the gravel truck and for a split second I was spinning out of control directly into his path. I was so shocked I froze up expecting to hit him and again, the car suddenly shot forward the other way, self correcting the spin and powered me up the hill in complete straight line and back in my own lane. I was incredulous that I didn't hit the ditch or the truck or the car and that I somehow made it safely up this hill. My question is, what did the car do and how did this happen? Should I be turning off any of the traction controls when cl