E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Learn from my various repairs, save $$$

07-27-2018, 01:42 PM   #1
CarlosAC
Rep
Drives: 2007 328i Coupe

Learn from my various repairs, save $$$

I don't post much, but I figured I'd go ahead and share some of the problems, symptoms, and repairs I've encountered over the years. A little background: I have had my '07 328i (6-speed) since 2009 and have put 144,000 miles on it. The car is pure stock and runs like a dream. While I'm not a certified mechanic by any means, I did work on jets for 21 years and I have extensive experience repairing many different vehicles. Plus, I have stayed at a Holiday Inn Express once or twice. I've even completely restored a 1967 Camaro RS/SS. Basically, I'm mechanically inclined. So, here's what I've encountered over the years -

1. Took my car to the local repair shop (LRS) for the scheduled brake flush and was notified I had a fault in the system which didn't come up on the display. The fault was faulty engine cooling, which the shop said indicated time to replace the water pump and offered to do the work for only $1800. What a bargain.
I decided to do the work myself, replacing the pump, thermostat, hoses, and of course the coolant. Total invested - $500. Worst part was accessing the hose clamps under the car for the thermostat. Not a difficult job, but time-consuming. I would suggest anyone tackling this job to be sure to place the clamps in a better position upon reassembly for any future work. In the end, I did notice my oil temp dropped about ten degrees from what it had run before the change.
Be sure to turn the car ON, but not start the engine, and the water pump will purge the system of any air. Kind of weird hearing the car do its own adjustments but it is real and it works. Monitor the fluid level as the bubbles come out.