E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > N54 Rough Idle and Engine Judder After Long Journey

04-10-2018, 03:46 AM   #1
E90-Spartan
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2006 Sapphire Black e91 335i

N54 Rough Idle and Engine Judder After Long Journey

Hi all,

Newbie to the forum so bare with me. I need to explain what's happened since I bought the car due to this being a returning problem!

I own a manual 2006 e91 335i with decat downpipes. I bought it around 6 months ago with 130k on the clock from a guy that works at a motorsports company building race cars, it was running ok so I thought not having owned one of these before (My Dad owns two Z3M's and a Z4 Alpina) so I'm not a complete novice with BMW's - although they are different engines, and i am some what mechanically minded...also due to the nature of the guy's trade I thought I was on to a winner.

So, a few weeks after buying it the temperature dropped due to it being Winter and it started idling rough on the morning start, (I've always warmed my cars up before driving) after pulling off and hitting around 2000rpm the car would Judder and a check engine message would appear along with reduced power. If I turned the car off and on again, let it tick over for a minute, then continue to drive everything was fine. I also took a trip to Birmingham and after that it started to Judder at low revs and make a sort of whirring sound under engine braking.