BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

05-27-2008, 08:08 PM   #1
DJ9
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2008 E92 M3_SG

Garage List
2008 M3  [0.00]
EDC: Sport vs Normal at the Track

Hi guys...I'm headed to my first track event in my e92 this weekend at Laguna Seca, and I'll have to admit, I'm a bit nervous as I'm still learning this car.

My last vehicle was an e46m3 with GC Suspension etc etc, so it was very much, set a few rebound/compression settings and you're good to go.

With the e92 Normal(Dynamic) vs. Sport (let alone throttle and steering) is something I'm still trying to 100% nail down.

Without commenting too much on my experience with the settings, I was wondering what most of you have used at the track?

Any feedback would be great.

Thanks!

**EDIT:

Some of my feedback post track event:

http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthr...ghlight=laguna

Pics of the event:

http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=147091

2008 E92M3-Space Gray
Eisenmann Sport Exhaust_MT/Loaded

Last edited by DJ9; 06-13-2008 at 08:58 PM..
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2008, 08:15 PM   #2
BCMPOWER
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 08 Silverstone II M3

I remember reading articles at launch, BMW engineers were advising the test drivers to leave the car in normal and not sport mode. Like you stated Normal is dynamic and can firm up the suspension more so than the fixed sport mode. I would play with this though, as I think consistent feel is more important than constantly changing dampening especially when pushing on a consistent track. I don't know which is faster, I have driven with the car in normal and sport on Skyline drive and found sport more suited to my driving style.
      05-27-2008, 09:33 PM   #3
Ronin13
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: E92 M3, RRS Supercharged, S2K