E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > What is the rattle?!

12-12-2017, 12:25 PM   #1
WatchWolf34
Because Racecar
Rep
Drives: 2009 E90 335i 6MT

What is the rattle?!

Hey folks - I come to you out of desperation and confusion.

My car is a 2009 E90 335i. Full bolt on - COBB Stage 2+ OTS tune with 129k miles.

So, the insanity creating rattle came to my attention after installation of VRSF 3" catless downpipes. I am not certain if the rattle was present prior to installation and was simply muffled by the cats or not - but this is when I noticed it. I got in the car after installation and was incredibly excited to hear the throaty sound and give it a couple revs. Sadly, the experience was tainted when a metallic rattle screamed over the exhaust note.

I've been chasing the rattle for a couple of months (however somewhat leisurely) and I am at the end of the road for possible solutions with the exception of one.

I'll layout the symptoms that I have and then follow that up with the troubleshooting adjustments I have made.

Symptoms:
1. The rattle occurs at idle, during acceleration, and during deceleration when the throttle is lifted (it's loudest at this time).
** I was under the impression that wastegate rattle is an issue only during deceleration when throttle is lifted. This is the part that has me most confused since my rattle is constant.

2. The rattle does not seem to be affected by engine operating temps. It occurs at cold start as well as after the car has been driven for miles and miles. For instance, I will hear the rattle when I pull up to a fast food drive-through window even after 30 minutes of driving.
** Again, I was under the impression that most wastegate rattles were a cold engine issue.