THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics N20 (228i) / B46 (230i) Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Tuning dual exhaust conversion for 230i

07-14-2017, 12:21 PM   #1
boypaulkim
Private
Rep
Drives: 230i

dual exhaust conversion for 230i

hello friends,

i'm a bit new to exhaust upgrades and have a couple of questions.
I know similar question has been asked here and there but couldn't find helpful answer.

I'm currently thinking to replace my 230i stock exhaust to a either stock M235/M240 or M performance exhaust for M235/M240.

the change would simply be for cosmetic look (dual exhaust look) and sound upgrade. I'm not all that interested in performance gain.

so here goes my question

1) can dual exhaust be installed without cutting my current exhaust pipe? i would like to avoid clamping/welding if possible. and revert to stock if needed.

2) i've heard the diameter of the pipe being different from stock 230i exhaust to dual exhaust from M235/M240. how does this get in the way of installing the exhaust?

3) Will installing stock M235/M240 or M performance exhaust for M235/M240 be compatible and functional with my valve? i do not want any code being thrown after installing the new exhaust.

4) Will the dealer refuse/void warranty even when my current exhaust is swapped to another original BMW part? (stock M235/M240 exhaust or MPE)

thank you in advance for your help!
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2017, 10:24 PM   #2
Ace604
Private
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2019 M2C

Quote:
Originally Posted by boypaulkim View Post
hello friends,

I know similar question has been asked here and there but couldn't find helpful answer.

I'm currently thinking to replace my 230i stock exhaust to a either stock M235/M240 or M performance exhaust for M235/M240.