BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
M2 Technical Topics > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Dumb HVAC Question

01-31-2017, 05:43 PM   #1
DETRoadster
Space Force - 4 Star General
Rep
Drives: M2 MG 6MT / Moto Guzzi V7

Dumb HVAC Question

OK, I officially give up. I'm new to the BMW brand and I'm having a dumb issue with the HVAC controls. There's 2 rotary knobs that control the cabin temp settings; one driver's side, one passenger's side. I've been through the manual and am still not finding how to lock these together so that simply adjusting the driver's side temp also brings the passenger's side temp along with it. That must be possible, right?

If the cabin temp is set to 68 and I want to bump it up to 70, do I really need to dial driver's side to 70, then dial passenger's side to 70 as well?
Appreciate 1
      01-31-2017, 06:03 PM   #2
Ex-MINI
BMW Newb
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2016 LBB M2 DCT

Unfortunately not...you can't lock the two dials together. This is one of my (minor) pet peeves as well
Appreciate 3
      01-31-2017, 07:27 PM   #3
DETRoadster
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ex-MINI View Post
Unfortunately not...you can't lock the two dials together. This is one of my (minor) pet peeves as well
Well that's just dumb!

Oh well, minor complaint. Every time I get a little bent out of shape about these minor inconveniences, I have to remind myself that there once was a time I drove an 87 Tercel that burned a quart of oil with every tank of gas, had no reverse, and had to be push started at least 50% of the time.
Appreciate 3
      01-31-2017, 08:02 PM   #4
Ex-MINI
BMW Newb
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2016 LBB M2 DCT

Quote:
Originally Posted by DETRoadster
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ex-MINI View Post
Well that's just dumb!