F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Power Tap for Infinity Basslink in trunk & Wiring to Bimmer-Tech PP82DSP
Studio RSR

05-08-2016, 05:37 PM   #1
PuterPro
Private
Rep
Drives: BMW 2015 320i Alpine White

Power Tap for Infinity Basslink in trunk & Wiring to Bimmer-Tech PP82DSP

Hi All!

Well, after spending MANY hours reading posts and searching the threads I had to give in and post a couple questions...!

I'M the one that usually smacks people to get them to search 1st , so if I missed this, so sorry.

I have a 2015 F30 with HiFi. Just ordered a Bimmer-Tech PP82DSP to start me on the road to better sound.

I'm an Electronics Tech (47 years) and a Computer Tech, but you just can't know everything. I've done a few Auto sound upgrades over the years, so I'm sure I'll do alright in the end. I say all this so you know you can get technical if needed.

I intend to setup the Bimmer-Tech PP82DSP when it arrives, and slowly upgrade my other speakers. For the time being, I understand it will help the underseat mid-woofers sound better. I expect to replace them (1st upgrade) with Earthquakes.

Until then, although I'd love to go with a custom Sub and dedicated amp in the battery compartment route, I can't afford it right now, so I'm resurrecting an almost unused Infinity Basslink II for use in the trunk, to help out the under seat ones.

I just ordered some replacement caps and connectors for the amp module (Digikey) as it has crappy Chinese caps, so I'll recap it. I then intend to close the hole where the amp went with some MDF & a gasket. Numerous people have had problems with this design since the electronics gets shaken to death by the sub. I'll make up an enclosure (properly heat-sinked) so I can mount it outside the box.