BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW M2 Forum > Pricing / Ordering / European Delivery / PCD > Lessons learned, strategies

03-20-2016, 06:33 PM   #1
pruettfan
Brigadier General
Rep
Drives: 2017 M2, LBB, DCT, Exec

Lessons learned, strategies

This is my first time scrambling for a new production vehicle that has significant demand. I thought I would start a thread where we could share our lessons learned on how to get positioned for a early slot and what not to do.

Back on October the day the M2 was announced I called the 4 dealers in AZ to get on a list. I was assured I was at the top of the list with the Tucson BMW dealer so I ended up not placing deposits and taking spots on the lists with the other dealers in the state. BIG Mistake. If I had to do it all over again I would have simply put deposits down with all of those dealers and would not have trusted the only dealer who didn't want a deposit. It turned out Tucson didn't really have a list and the guy i spoke to left and I was SOL.

So my lesson learned is never assume that when someone says that they have you covered you are actually covered, get on as many lists as you can and see what comes. I suspect the other key is to build a solid relationship with one dealer and then leverage that relationship to get your spot on the list as soon as rumors of the model come up.

Any other thoughts on strategy or what not to do??
Appreciate 1
      03-20-2016, 06:46 PM   #2
clubsport
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: LBB

My local dealers would not accept deposits until they could order a car. I started their list nearly 2 years ago but wound up 2nd. I still have that spot but have a deposit on an HEA car in the east, as well. Since my local store is a "Market adjust" group, I have almost given up getting one there.