E90Post

Extreme Powerhouse

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > First post: E92 opinions/advice wanted.

09-24-2015, 03:30 AM   #1
q2quest
Registered
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2011 VW Golf TDI

First post: E92 opinions/advice wanted.

Hello everyone! I've been driving VWs and Audis for the last 15 years, but I just can't stop admiring the E92 BMW and have decided a nice used one will be my next daily driver. I've been doing a lot of reading here and would like some opinions on a few things. Between 2007 and 2011 is there any one year better than another in terms of automatic transmission or electronics (radio, bluetooth) offerings or are the cars pretty similar? I've heard mixed reviews about the factory navigation unit, that the extra hump on the dash is an eye sore. I don't mind it, but is it better to stay with the factory Nav screen or would you recommend getting a car without the factory nav and swapping in a nice touch screen from Dynavin or something like that? Also, how good is the factory sound system? Do most people go with aftermarket speakers or leave the factory ones in place. Any and all suggestions are appreciated. Thank you!
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2015, 03:58 AM   #2
maddmatth
Major
New Zealand
Rep
Drives: F82 M4, E92 335i

The Hifi system (middle of the 3 options) is pretty good. Subwoofers are under the seats, it does good bass yet nice clear sound at the same time.
I don't feel any need to upgrade and think it would satisfy most people.
Base sound system may be different story, don't think it gets sub-woofers so I imagine it's pretty average.

I have the CIC iDrive (the later E92 generation of the system, CCC is the earlier). It's decent, sometimes nicer to see inbuilt nav rather than pull out the phone. It has a nice interface for seeing service info like how much life is in your front and rear breaks, tyre pressure status.