E90Post

Extreme Powerhouse

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > How much to expect from adding tweeters (base stereo)

07-15-2015, 03:40 PM   #1
Heylel
Enlisted Member
Denmark
Rep
Drives: BMW 320D Touring (E91, MY11)

How much to expect from adding tweeters (base stereo)

Hi,

I've been an avid lurker for sometime but only just signed up. Since getting my 320D Touring (10.2010, MY2011) I've been slightly annoyed with the dull sound (like so many others) - so I have read a fairly substantial number of posts here to learn a bit about what the options are

I have base stereo, Professional Nav (CIC).

While I am intrigued by the many impressive upgrades people have done, I also recognize that I am a complete beginner when it comes to wiring and car audio. I am by no means an audiophile but more a casual listener - so I was looking to start by upgrading to actually having tweeters.

I have the PNs for sails with grilles (the 201 and 202s), foam (though I plan on skimping on that and reuse what is in there already as has been advised in several threads). I am however unsure which tweeter to get - there's two different ones.
http://bmwfans.info/parts-catalog/E9...ker/#9142512_1

65139217909 Harman Kardon tweeter
65136964012 Hifi Tweeter

Incidentally, if I were to progress after this I would likely opt for something like the MB200.3 package, an MB Nano amplifier and a PnP harness from Technic, meaning that I would lose the OEM tweeters again.

Any advice from someone who has heard these tweeters in real life? Is there something to be said for buying used so they don't need breaking in - or does that not apply to tweeters?

Cheers,

H.
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2015, 03:46 PM   #2
ptpending
Colonel
Rep
Drives: e91

consider genuine bmw alpine kit
it will provide tweeters, upgraded mids and simple amplifier with plug and play upgrade for stereo (base)
      07-15-2015, 04:54 PM   #3