proTUNING Freaks
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

03-04-2015, 09:22 PM   #1
volkl23
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2018 F80 M3 ZCP

Multi-point harness options for M3/M4

I'm doing an HPDE event this spring with the PCA and was looking at multi-point harness with Hans options. I'm a total beginner, so do I even need one or should I just stick with the stock seat belts? Are there even options available right now for the f80/f82 platform?

Thanks in advance!
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 09:41 PM   #2
FTS
Enjoying driving
United_States
Rep
Drives: 645

You don't need one, stick with the safety systems designed for the car until you advance, then if you do decide to get more safety, do it all. Don't do safety half-ass
Appreciate 1
JNoSol1377.50
      03-04-2015, 10:02 PM   #3
MaynardZed
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: wife crazy

Garage List
^This, although you're to be applauded for thinking about safety first.

In general, a Hans and 6-point harness would be added when you put a roll cage in your car.
WHP East Track: 1:04.880, Arizona Motorsports Park: 1:54.352
Road course laptimes for Porsche 911 991.1 GTS 7MT
WHP East Track: 1:02.770, Arizona Motorsports Park: 1:48.889
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 10:16 PM   #4
Gac101177
M4-SAHD
Rep
Drives: M3

Garage List
2015 BMW M4  [10.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by volkl23
I'm doing an HPDE event this spring with the PCA and was looking at multi-point harness with Hans options. I'm a total beginner, so do I even need one or should I just stick with the stock seat belts? Are there even options available right now for the f80/f82 platform?

Thanks in advance!
I'll be at Roebling raceway with the PCA in April first time also very exited. When are you going?
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2015, 03:20 AM   #5
peter_s
Private First Class
Sweden
Rep