Mo Reviews
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

12-28-2014, 11:29 AM   #1
Mortis
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2017 M4 Comp

First track session with the M4 - Thunderbolt Raceway

Hi friends,

I took delivery of my M4 (SO/BLK, 6MT, adaptive suspension) right before thanksgiving, completed the break-in service last week, and yesterday took it on the track for the first time at the Thunderbolt Raceway at the New Jersey Motorsports Park. Miraculously we had amazing weather for that day only.

On the advice of one of the forum members, I wanted to report back on the experience. First of all, I am a beginner to track driving, with only a couple of HPDEs under my belt. My objective was to get to know the car and emerge intact, so I took it slow and easy.

The car I had previously used on the track was a 435i, and even to a noob like me, the difference was astonishing. The M4 made me feel like a much better driver than I really am. The handling was extremely precise and absolutely zero body roll (I was in sport across the board).

For the first couple of sessions I left the DSC on, and found it extremely frustrating - it was cutting power constantly and I could get very little down coming out of the corners. In my last session I was on MDM, and that made a world of difference. The car felt more agile, responsive and obviously faster, and to be honest, I felt more comfortable and in control of the car in this setting (less inclined to push it to do something it did not want to).

It was also my first time with a manual transmission on the track, and while I still need to learn correct shift points, the M4's fat powerbands allowed me to stay in either 3rd or 4th pretty much the entire time. My fastest lap on the circuit was 1:43:74. I have no idea if that is good or not, but it felt absolutely great.