proTUNING Freaks
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Wheels | Tires -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack

View Poll Results: To space or not to space
I have an engineering degree and I design cars/suspensions and I would use spacers on my M3/M4. 5 12.20%
I have an engineering degree and I design cars/suspensions and I would NOT use spacers on my M3/M4. 0 0%
I am a mechanic with a lot of experience and I would use spacers on my M3/M4. 1 2.44%
I am a mechanic with a lot of experience and I would NOT use spacers on my M3/M4. 0 0%
I am an enthusiast with a lot of track experience and I would use spacers on my M3/M4. 6 14.63%
I am an enthusiast with a lot of track experience and I would NOT use spacers on my M3/M4. 2 4.88%
I am a street enthusiast and I would use spacers on my M3/M4. 25 60.98%
I am a street enthusiast and I would NOT use spacers on my M3/M4. 5 12.20%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 41. You may not vote on this poll

10-16-2014, 09:29 AM   #1
pigwet
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: MW F80, CP, DCT

Spacers poll and questions

I have some questions regarding the use of spacers.

On Turner's website they state the following:
http://www.turnermotorsport.com/t-wheel-spacers.aspx
Quote:
All BMWs use hubcentric wheels. When mounted to the car, the wheel rests on a lip instead of the wheel bolts or studs. The lip contributes to the strength of the wheel and the wheel cannot safely be used without a lip. The wheel bolts are not strong enough to support the weight and loads generated through the wheel. The lip is usually 9-10.5mm in depth and the new spacer must have its own lip. Turner and H&R Spacers with their own integrated hubcentric lip are: 10mm, 12mm, 12.5mm, 15mm, 18mm, 20mm, 25mm, and 30mm.