proTUNING Freaks
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning

09-01-2014, 11:09 PM   #1
bensaawn
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: 2015 F80 M3

M Vehicle Expectations and General Stick-Shift Questions

Hi friends,

I need some insight from this experienced community. I have a few (possibly stupid and I apologize in advance) questions about your manual driving habits with high powered M engines.

Some history: My only BMW and Manual driving experience comes from a 2011 328xi that I've driven for over 60,000km in the last 3 years. I've self-taught myself how to drive manual through extensive internet research and have had a few sessions with 2 friends who have had past experiences with driving manual cars.

I will be taking delivery of an F80 this month, and while I am prepared for a big boost in power, I actually have no clue what to expect from an M and would like some input on any stark differences and/or surprises that I may encounter (thus helping me avoid damaging the car in any way).

I also have a few general stick-shift questions.

My general stick-shift questions are:
1) What is considered "gas-efficient" rpms to be shifting at? (I have been shifting at 3000rpm all the time when I want to drive conservatively and keeping the RPMs between 2000-3000) Is this good?

2) There is a redline RPM to tell drivers that there is an upperbound limit for the engine, but is there a low limit? Like bogging down the engine around 1500rpms...is that a okay thing to do just to stay gas efficient when coasting? is it okay to apply a lot of throttle when rps are that low?