E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Dinan ... why doesn't BMW offer this flash update?

12-16-2007, 10:54 PM   #1
martieg
Texas
United_States
Rep
Drives: 330i Black Sph PP/SP/NV/MTk

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Dinan ... why doesn't BMW offer this flash update?

First off - I have no experience whatsoever in tuning, having a car tuned, Dinan, Procede, etc. All my knowledge is from reading this forum. But my question to which an answer would be appreciated:

If my perception is correct - the performance Dinan offers is just a software upgrade that recallibrates a whole bunch of parameters to allow the car to perform way better. No hardware (except the oil cooler) - right?

So, why isn't BMW offering this? I mean, who's Dinan to come and improve on what the geniuses at BMW with fat R&D budgets and the know-how? And if the BMW hardware supports these new parameters, why not selling the 335i with this? Or is Dinan pushing the limits of the hardware, or any trade-offs we must be aware of?

Last edited by martieg; 12-17-2007 at 05:29 AM..
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2007, 11:28 PM   #2
MSimeon
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: E92 335I BSM

my guess is that BMW doesn't want to do anything that will make a 335i outgun their brand new M3.
      12-17-2007, 12:55 AM   #3
Archibald Donnington
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2015 X1

Quote:
Originally Posted by MSimeon View Post
my guess is that BMW doesn't want to do anything that will make a 335i outgun their brand new M3.
+1
aaron
      12-17-2007, 01:29 AM   #4
LACA335i
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: E92 335i coupe Black AUTO

Garage List
2007 335I SEDAN  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSimeon View Post