BMW 2-Series Gran Coupe
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 2 Series Gran Coupe Forum (F44) BMW 2 Series Gran Coupe (F44) General Discussion

02-08-2022, 03:43 PM   #1
MugatuJag
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 2022 BMW 228I XDrive GC

2022 228I XD, Pitted Headlights/Satin Trim Scratch

Hey everybody, so I traded in my 2019 Mini Cooper S on this beautiful 2022 BMW 228I X Dr. gran coupe in skyscraper gray metallic. It was a courtesy loaner so I got a really good deal. And the car is actually in rather good condition for being a courtesy loaner with 5300 miles, A few chips nothing major, one rim was curbed but they are going to fix it for free. However I have been detailing cars my whole life and while I’m not a professional I am very OCD, so while I love the car I am kind of regretting not getting a brand new one because it does have minor pitting of the windshield, and the headlight lenses, and then the scratch on the satin trim. And that new car smell which I know is carcinogenic supposedly is fading quick lol

Regardless the deal is done, I do however want to immediately put 3M wrap on the headlights, and the front bumper. The headlights have very minor pitting and I have never restored headlights on a nearly brand new car and I’m hesitant to sand it down even with fine grit but I really want the headlights to be as near perfect as possible before I put the 3M on. I just wanted an objective opinion as to if I should attempt to remove the pitting, I can use fine grit while wet sanding, and my porter cable to polish them up, or I could also use Mags Chrome and metal polish which is known to be effective at polishing headlights. Or Should I just Claybar them, and polish them up and put the 3M on?